Latest News‎ > ‎

Eoin and Luke star in Ted Webb Cup Final

posted 9 Aug 2011, 02:36 by Caltra GAA

Galway County won the Ted Webb final in Ballyhaunis on Bank Holiday Monday last beating Mayo N.W. by 1-10 to 0-5, leading at the break by 0-7 to 0-3 John Donnellan's team gave a polished display overall. Caltra had a large influence on this years team with Luke Burke and Eoin O'Ceallaigh backboning the fullback line with lining out in both corners and Declan Meehan acting as a Selector.

Galway opened the scoring when captain Brian Shaughnessy pointing after only two minutes, Mayo replied with a point from Liam Irwin two minutes later. Galway shot the next three points from Joseph Donnellan 0-2 and Eoin McCormack to lead by four points to one midway through the half. Irwin pulled one back for Mayo but further points from McCormack 0-2 and Stephen Lawless gave the winners a five point lead on thirty minutes but Cathal Barrett had the last score of the half to see his side trail by 0-7 to 0-3 at the break.

Galway stretched their lead by shooting the first three scores of the second half as Richard Fahy shot 1-1 and Martin Connell added a point to leave them leading by 1-9 to 0-3 after twelve minutes. Mayo replied with two points and also missed a penalty in closing stages but Galway's McCormack shot the last score of the game to leave his side leading by 1-10 to 0-5 at the final whistle.

The Galway Team was: J Healy, L Burke, C Reilly, E O'Ceallaigh, N McDonagh, J Parsons, J Rattigan, R Fahy, S Lawless, B Shaughnessy, J Donnellan, M Connell, A McDonagh, E McCormack and C Raftery. Sub K Newell for McDonagh.

Management Manager: John Donnellan. Selectors: Declan Meehan, Cathal Blake and Enda Daly.
In the Shield final Mayo S.E beat Galway C.W by 1-16 to 2-10, it all square at the break 2-4 to 1-7 with Galway's scores coming from Liam Mac Donnacha who shot two goals and a point while Niall Lee, Enda Tierney and Dylan Thornton added a point each.
The second half saw Galway shoot six points, Niall Lee 0-3, while Eamon Branigan, Eoin Walsh, and Conor Lowndes shot a point each.

Under 16 Tedd Webb winners Eoin O' Ceallaigh & Luke Burke with selector Declan Meehan.