Club History‎ > ‎

Expanding the Trophy Cabinet


The winning of the All-Ireland Club Championship on St. Patrick’s Day 2004 was described as a “Fairytale” at the time but it is important to remember that it was not an overnight success.  The work at the development of underage teams has always been strong in the Club and the involvement of so many mentors with teams brought its own success.  Gone are the days when one or two people looked after all teams in the club. Below is a selection of successful Caltra sides down through the years.

1986 U-16 B Champions
Back Row L to R: Padraig Fitzgerald, Micheal Meehan, Kevin (Rico) Glynn, Noel Kelly, Kevin Mockler, David Leonard, 
Gary Laheen, Seamus Meehan, Leo Ruane, Tommy Madden, Sean Grady, Jim Connolly, Martin Kilgannon, Thomas Geraghty, 
Jim Ruane RIP, Paddy Murray.
Front L to R: Mike Monagan, Declan Leonard, Pat Gilmore, Padraic Naughton, Darren Cotton, Enda Meehan, Micheal Geraghty, Niall Cotton, Gerard Fitzgerald, Emmet DeCourcey, Leo Murray, Micheal Gavin, Noel Fitzgerald

Minor B County Champions 1988
Front L to R: Jamie Reynolds, Pat Gilmore, Noel Fitzgerald, Gerard Fitzgerald, Leo Murray, Kevin Gylnn, Noel Kelly, Sean Lawlor, Thomas Geraghty.
Back L to R: Peter Murray, Seamus Meehan, Frank Mockler, Enda Meehan, Francis O’Brien, Leo Ruane, Sean Grady, Micheal Geraghty, Padraig Naughton, Daniel Kelly, Jim Ruane (R.I.P.).

Castleffrench National School winning a nine-a-side football competition in 1989.
Back Row: L to R - Eoin Fallon, Neil Shaughnessy, Paul Murray, David Kinsella, Tomás Meehan, David Kelly, Philip O’Connor, Michael Healy (Principal)
Front Row: L to R - Jarlath Murray, Philip Egan, Ollie Hennelly, Declan Meehan, Gerry Hannon, Brian Healy, Noel Meehan.

U-12 Defeated Football Finalists in 1991
Front Row (LtoR): David Laffey, John Divilly, Gary Finnerty, David Costello, Oliver Lawlor, Cathal Kilroy, Niall Higgins, John Galvin.
Back Row (Lto R): Michael Meehan, Mattie Kilroy, Michael Sweeney, Jarlath Murray, Noel Meehan, Ross Landers, Seamus Sheridan, Padraic Geraghty, Padraic Kelly, Johnny Costello.

Under 10 A County Champions 1992
Back Row L to R:  Michael Cullinane, Michael Kelly, Brian Laffey, Jarlath Kelly, Shane Connelly.
Front Row L to R:  Alan Coffey, Brian Kilroy, Matthew Killilea, Anthony Griffin, Julian Leonard, Brendan Sheridan.


County U-14 B Champions 1993
Back Row L to R: Enda Mulryan, David Laffey, Seamus Geraghty, Dara Kitt, Seamus Sheridan, Francis Geraghty, Michael Sweeney, Michael Finnerty, John Divilly, Mattie Kilroy.
Front Row Lto R: Gary Finnerty, Trevor Kennedy, Paul Gately, Paul Gavin, Keith Harrison, Cathal Kilroy, Pat Joe DavÎis, Michael Kelly, Adrian Finnerty, Kevin Kilroy.

1995 U-16 A League Winners
Front row L to R: Adrian Finnerty, Gary Finnerty, Jason English, John Galvin, Seamus Sherdian, Patrick Hartigan, Ollie Deeley, Kevin Kilroy.
Middle row: Mattie Kilroy, P.J Cullinane, John Divilly, Paul Gately, Cathal Kilroy, Colin Higgins, Damien Moroney, Trevor Kennedy, Lawrence Raftery, Micheal Kelly, Seamus Kelly, Mickey Sweeney.
Back row: Oliver Lawlor, Cathal Lohan, Dara Kitt, Seamus Geraghty, Francis Geraghty, David Laffey, Enda Mulryan, J.P Kelly.

1996 U-21 B County Champions
Front row L to R : Chris Kelly, Gary Finnerty, Noel Meehan, Cathal Kilroy, Jarlath Murray, Ollie Hennelly, Brian Healy, Kevin Gavin, Shane Costello, Mascot: Micheal Hennelly.
Back Row L to R: Mike Hennelly, Gerry Hannon, Seamus Ryan, Declan Lally, Ross Landers, Tomas Meehan, John Kelly R.I.P., Damian Cunniffe, John Galvin, David Costello, Nicholas Delaney, Declan Meehan, John Kelly, Eamon Purcell RIP. (Young man at back of picture (Shane Hogan).

1997 U-21 A County Champions
Front L to R: Gary Finnerty, Colin Higgins, Noel Meehan, Jarlath Murray, Damien Cunniffe, Seamus Sheridan, Cathal Kilroy,  Declan Meehan, Joe Hennelly, Seamus Geraghty, Kevin Sheridan.
Back Row: Mike Hennelly, Se†n Morrissey, Nicolas Delaney, Seamus Ryan, Brian Healy, John Galvin, David Kelly, Ross Landers, Kevin Gavin, Declan Lally, David Costello, Tomás Meehan, Paul Gately, Ollie Lawlor, Shane Costello, Eamon Purcell RIP.

1997 Galway Intermediate Champions Winners:
Front row L to R: Brian Healy, Kevin (Rico) Gylnn, Noel Meehan, Leo Murray, Kevin Gavin, Padraic Mulligan, Aidan Murray, Jarlath Murray, Seamus Meehan, Declan Meehan, Patrick Hartigan, Seamus Gearghty.
Back row L to R: Colin Higgins, Nicholas Delaney, Declan Lally, David Costello, Ross Landers, Ollie Hennelly, Kevin Mockler, Kevin Murray, Damien Cunniffe, Tomas Meehan, Micheal (Flash) Gordon, Enda Meehan, Cathal Kilroy, Gary Finnerty, Ollie Lawlor, John Galvin.

1998 U-14 Feile Champions
Front L to R: Francis Mitchell, Dara Hannon, John Smyth, Shane Hogan, Kevin Kililea, Ronan Finnerty, David Hannon, Kenny English, Kevin Hennelly, Darren Kelly, Joseph Bannerton.
Middle Row: Fr.Liam Kitt, Tomas Shaughnessy, Brendan Kilroy,Alan Mannion, Alan Smyth, Oisin Kelly, Micheal Meehan, Colm Kilroy, Leslie Hannon, Simon Leonard, Aaron Dowd, Niall Keighery, Micheal Hogan.
Back Row: Pakie Hannon, J.P. Kelly, John Kililea, Anto Smyth, Mattie Kilroy.

2001 U-12 B Champions
Back row L to R: Sean Wade, Niall Naughton, Thomas Higgins, Doyle Hanlon, Prionsias Nolan RIP,Thomas Morgan, Andrew Finnerty, Eugene Mcloughlin, Lorcan Donnellan, Shane Conway, Mark Gately, Ronan Kelly.
Front row: Michael Kennedy, Shane Davis, James Curly, Alan Gavin, Cian O’ Ceallaigh, Eamon Hannon, Connor Hannon, Emmet Davis, Colm Greene, Damien Wynne, Kevin Bannerton, Robert Quigley.

2002 Minor A North Board Champions:
Front L to R: Colm Kilroy, Shane Hogan, Mark Mulryan, Niall Keighrey, Kevin Killilea, Dara Hannon, Kevin Hennelly, Ronan Finnerty, Alan Smyth, Joe Costello, William Lyons.
Back Row:  Fr. Liam Kitt, Michael Meehan, Oísin Kelly, Alan Mannion, John Smith, Simon Leonard, Tomás Shaughnessy, Damien Coen, Tomas Dalton, Brian Kitt, Brendan Kilroy, David Hannon, Niall Loughrey, Declan Kelly.

2003 U-12 A Champions
Back row: Mark Sammon, Eoin Freyne, Sean O Connor, Keith Flood, Gerry Sammon (Trainer), Micheal White, Anthony Kilgannon, Keith Conway, Brian Harrison, Cathal Hogan, Brian Hurley, Cuan Kelly, Shane Pender, Johnnie Gordon (Selector), John Finnerty, John Sammon, Anthony Carraig, Kevin Kitt, Sean DeCourcy, Paul Kilgannon (Selector), Paul Kilgannon, Kevin Keane, Sinead Flood, Mike White (Selector), Laura Naughton.
Front row L to R: Eric Conway, Conor Nolan, Trevor Barrett, Damien Curley, Padraic Mannion, Stephen Nolan, Colm Freyne, Colm Raftery, Mark Glynn, Niall Coen, David Gordon, Eoin O’Connor, Paul Gylnn, John Corr.

The 2004 U-12 North Board “A” Champions 
Front Row LtoR: Robert Kelly, Gavin Crehan, Stephen Smith, Peter Birch, Luke Cosgrove, Benny McLoughlin, David Gordan, 
Keith Connolly, colm Freyne, Padraig Mannion, Cathal Mannion, Trevor Barrett, Cormac Dervan, Eric Conway, Aaron Pender.
Back Row LtoR: Conor Nolan, Anthony Kilgannon, Martin Gordan, Joseph Burice, Damien Curley, Michael Whyte, Colm Raftery, John Sammon, Shane Pender, Cuan Kelly, John Finnerty, Philip Stephens, Kevin Keane, David Harney, Conor and Niall Coen

The 2010 U-15 (B) League Champions
Back Row(left to right). Kevin Murray, Cathal Delaney, Evan Brennan, Daniel Keane, Darragh Butler, Shane Reaney, Michael Murphy, Diarmuid Cahill, Andy Gavin, Sean Igoe, James Dooley, Paul Kilgannon, Aidan Burke.
Front. Michael McDonnell, Anthony Pollock, Niall Sammon, Cathal Cosgrove, Cormac Donlon, Stephen Finnerty, Luke Burke, Eoin O'Ceallaigh, Shane Mockler, Andrea O'Farrell, Stephen Kelly, Mark O'Dowd, Kieran Kilgannon.