Match Reports‎ > ‎

Minor Championship Q/F '11

posted 11 Aug 2011, 02:03 by Caltra GAA   [ updated 11 Aug 2011, 02:09 ]
Well done to the minors who had a 4-5 to 1-7 win over near neighbours Kilkerrin/Clonberne last night in Mountbellew (August 11th 2011). Conditions were terrible for football but both sides served up a very exciting skillful game despite the driving rain and swirling breeze.
Caltra struck first with a well taken penalty converted by Padraic Mannion after Luke Cosgrove was taken down following a great burst in along the endline. Caltra dominated the next 20 minutes tagging on 3 more points and another well worked taken from Padraic Mannion to leave it 2-3 to 0-2. Kilkerrin/Clonberne rallied late in the half with their County man Shane Walsh converting a free before the same player rifled the ball to the net just before the break to leave the half time score 2-3 for Caltra to Kikierrin/Clonberne's 1-3.
Great work in the second half from the Caltra Backs prevented any real goal chances presenting themselves to the opposition and in truth that was going to be  Kilkerrin/Clonbernes only chance of mounting a comeback in this game. Stephen Smyth, Cathal Mannion and John Sammon were to the fore as a large majority of attacks were folied time and again by the alert Caltra defence.
Likewise the forward unit fought hard to stop the Kilkerrin/Clonberne backs coming out with, or delivering decent ball to their midfield. Mark Mcdermott, Benny McLouglin and Fergal Mulryan particularly effective in this sector. Another palmed effort 15 minutes from time for Padraic Mannion, to give him his hat trick, followed by a great effort cooly slotted by Luke Cosgrove finished the game off as a contest. The final score was Caltra 4-5 Kilkerrin/Clonberne 1-7.
Wins over Mitown and Kilkerrin/Clonberne now put the team in the North Board Semi Final which will be played in the coming weeks.
Team: James Birch, Eric Conway, Stephen Smyth, Eoin O'Ceallaigh, Phelim Hughes, Cathal Mannion, John Sammon, Padraic Mannion, John Finnerty, Mark Reaney, Benny McLoughlin, Fergal Mulryan, David Harney, Luke Cosgrove, Mark McDermott. Conor Nolan for David Harney, Eoin O'Ceallaigh for Mark Reaney, Mark Reaney for Padraic Mannion.